Skip to content

A Former Student Made My Day!

March 24, 2009

I heard from a former student today via G-mail.

It is always a real treat to hear from a former student who is doing well.  There are days in teaching when I ask myself , “Why am I here?  Banking wasn’t so bad!”  Then, e-mail’s like the one I received today arrive and put everthing back into perspective.  I can’t put a value on what it mean’s to hear from a former student who is doing well but it’s my equivalent of a corporate bonus!

She wanted to thank me for sending her to a program called Camp Enterprise when she was at my school a few years back.  She credits that experience as a contributing factor to her current success in the world of media relations with a large Canadian bank.  That proves one never knows which experience will connect with a student the most and therefore it is important to expose our students to as many positive experiences as we can.

It’s too bad that she graduated before all of the SMART Boards and ICT came to HT.  I really think she would have loved that experience as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

