Skip to content

Google Apps Update

December 22, 2009

I have been using Google Apps (my own version anyway) for the whole semester thus far and I would have to say that it has been an overwhelming success.  My students are becoming more comfortable collaborating with one another online and I am becoming more comfortable with assessing their collaborative endeavors.  I can totally envision a time, in the not too distant future, whereby everything I do will be done in the “cloud” so to speak.   Since I was just approved to teach an online course starting next September, I think I may use that as an opportunity to test out the real power of Google Apps and bring Google Wave into it as well.  I’m sure I will be posting regularly next fall with updates on this new chapter of my quest to incorporate more ICT into public education.

On another note, I recently completed a PD in-service for some fellow teachers (about 100 or so) on how to use Google Apps effectively in the classroom.  I was amazed at the positive response I received because it proved to me that people really do want to move forward with their teaching.  Unfortunately, most teachers do not like to teach themselves about new technology and require more hands-on training (my next challenge).  I just can’t stop thinking that if we all just embrace “cloud” computing for what it is worth the result will be collaborative education beyond our wildest expectations.

Anyhow, I just wanted to update some of you on how it was going with my Google Apps experiment.

Merry Christmas Everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie Cahusac permalink
    February 24, 2010 7:54 pm

    Hi Michael, It’s a small world. I am writing from South Korea and you are living in my home town. I went to BCHS many years ago. I am moving to a new school in August in Colombia and I really want to implement blogs and google apps. I have been reading lots of info on the net but can’t find the answer to one question that you might be able to help me with. Can I join up for google apps education for just myself and my class or does it have to be a whole school commitment? Obviously my school would have to be on board with what I’m doing etc. Sorry to bother you with such a small question but I can’t find the answer anywhere and I’m kind of new to web 2.0 tools. Thanks in advance. Bonnie Cahusac

    • perosevic permalink*
      February 24, 2010 8:27 pm

      Hi Bonnie,

      Nice to hear from you…small world indeed! As far as I know you cannot set up Google Apps for just one class officially but you can just do almost the same thing yourself. Just set up all of your students with Gmails and create a class folder in your Gmail contacts list. Then, create a Google group and add your class to that for discussions,etc. You can then just share students in on documents you create or have them share you in on theirs and it works almost as well as the official Google Apps protocol.

      Good Luck and feel fre to e-mail me with any more questions you may have.

      Best Regards,

      Mike

  2. Bonnie Cahusac permalink
    February 26, 2010 8:34 am

    Thanks Mike for your speedy reply. I appreciate it. My problem is that students under 13 can’t legally have gmail accounts without the google apps education. Take care, thanks again.

Leave a Reply

