Skip to content

It’s Been A While…

May 21, 2010

I haven’t posted for several months mainly because I have been having a really tough semester.  I’ve been teaching for 13 years now and I am getting very frustrated with the degradation of our system and the toll it is taking on both teachers and students.

Things like grade inflation, no late penalties, students skipping class with no penalty, students not handing in assignments or missing tests with no penalty are all adding to and fueling this general sense of entitlement that is pervasive in today’s high school.

Another MAJOR problem is a noticeable lack of motivation and effort on the part of most senior students.  I have never had an academic year worse than this  one in terms of student apathy.  I try to make my classes interesting and dynamic mainly through the use of technology, however, it almost seems like it is now not enough.  These students seem to need more and more stimulation in order for us to gain their attention.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem dealing with this current “learning” environment.  I have a huge problem with how this will be affecting our society at large in the near future.  I really believe that we need a paradigm shift in public education that moves us away from this model of “factory education” and towards a student centered project-based learning approach.  In order for this to happen, we need to spend more efficiently (not more) on education AND we need to make ties with local businesses so that we can develop meaningful learning opportunities that relate to real world careers.

I would not hold my breath for this to happen because the current education system is so fraught with bureaucracy that any attempt to make any wholesale changes is simply futile.  Our only hope is that the public begins to demand change and votes accordingly during any upcoming provincial election.  Once again, I won’t hold my breath waiting for that to happen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

